Apple has in the past made several attempts to add social functions to iTunes, and since a few years also Apple Music. iTunes Ping hardly got any publicity and the most recent attempt, Apple Music Connect, has not been a success either. This option will disappear in 2019.

With Apple Music Connect it was possible as an artist to add extra content, such as photos and videos, to an artist profile. Barely one year after the launch of the service, the platform received a less prominent place within Apple Music. Where it first had its own page, everything was now placed under the artist page and at the bottom 'For you'

Apple has now removed the feature to post new posts on Apple Music. In addition, Apple removes previously posted posts from musicians who did use Apple Music Connect. This content will no longer be visible under the "For You" tab in Apple Music. Until 24 May 2019 the content can still be found via the search function. After this, all content from Apple Music Connect will be permanently deleted.

Whether Apple is going to add other options that allow artists to add additional content is currently unknown. We will of course keep you informed of developments.

Is your music not yet on Apple Music or the other major streaming services? Then create an account here and get started right away.